Skip to main content
Staff Portal Staff Portal

ASL For Families

Early Years Learners and Preschool & School-Aged Learners

When: 8-week series.

This program will run at 4 separate times. Please indicate your desired time in the registration.

Early Years Learners

 

Day of the Week

Time

Morning group

Tuesdays
Beginning February 20

10 to 10:45 a.m. AST
10:30 to 11:15 a.m. NST

Evening group

Thursdays
Beginning February 22

7 to 7:45 p.m. AST
7:30 to 8:15 p.m. NST

Preschool & School-Aged Learners

 

Day of the Week

Time

Lunchtime group

Tuesdays
Beginning March 19

12 to 12:45 p.m. AST
12:30 to 1:15 p.m. NST

Evening group

Tuesdays
Beginning February 20

7 to 7:45 p.m. AST
7:30 to 8:15 p.m. NST

Audience:

Parents, caregivers, or adult family members of preschool-aged and school-aged children who qualify for APSEA supports and services and who are interested in building ASL into their daily lives to create meaningful language experiences.

About:

Come together to meet others and learn or improve your ASL skills in a relaxed and welcoming environment. Using the American Sign Language at Home: A Family Curriculum, participants will learn how to incorporate language into their daily routines through the guidance of Deaf Mentors. ASL/English interpretation will be provided. Topics in this series will include:

Early Years Learners

  1. Meal time
  2. Bath time
  3. Diaper Change and Bathroom Routines
  4. Book sharing

Preschool & School-Aged Learners

  1. Family time
  2. Meal time
  3. Play time
  4. Book sharing

Facilitators:

  • Meg Stewart, Deaf Mentor
  • Harry Purney, Deaf Mentor
  • Chrissy MacNeil, Deaf Mentor

Registration:

Registration for this program is now full.

Status message

Sorry… This form is closed to new submissions.